How does Google calendar work with Outlook? Do I have to abandon Outlook altogether?

This is a discussion on How does Google calendar work with Outlook? Do I have to abandon Outlook altogether? within the HTC Incredible Help forums, part of the HTC Incredible Assistance category; I have been using Outlook for many years now and am currently using Outlook 2007 on my desktop. I just got the Incredible and have ...

+ Reply to Thread

Question How does Google calendar work with Outlook? Do I have to abandon Outlook altogether?

I have been using Outlook for many years now and am currently using Outlook 2007 on my desktop. I just got the Incredible and have been syncing via USB with HTC Sync, which I downloaded onto my desktop.

I am not crazy about any of the Calendar apps I have seen and am wondering how using Google calendar would work. Would I need to abandon Outlook on my desktop? How do the two work together?

And is the Google calendar even worth switching to? Lots of good features, etc?

thanks! Look forward to your replies.

Cat

2. # ADS
    Ads

You can kinda use both. Google has a calendar sync program for windows that will sync google calendar and outlook.

But either way, Google's calendar is very capable and can do all the same things Outlook can.

I agree w/coreno. I use Google sync on my PC but am finding that I really don't refer to my Outlook calendar anymore.

Quote Originally Posted by coreno View Post
    You can kinda use both. Google has a calendar sync program for windows that will sync google calendar and outlook.

But either way, Google's calendar is very capable and can do all the same things Outlook can.
    Hmmm...ok, for a total newbie like me, is there a way to experiment with Google calendar and have it sync with my Outlook on my desktop, and then easily transition back to Outlook if I find it is not my preference? If so, could you let me know the most seamless way to do that? (Sorry, all I have known forever is Outlook!).