Help - Possible Brick!

This is a discussion on Help - Possible Brick! within the HTC Incredible Hacks forums, part of the HTC Incredible Development category; First, I'm a huge noob. After successfully rooting, using unrevoked forever (hboot screen confirms S-off), I wanted to update from radio 1.x to 2.x so ...

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Help - Possible Brick!

First, I'm a huge noob. After successfully rooting, using unrevoked forever (hboot screen confirms S-off), I wanted to update from radio 1.x to 2.x so that I could use a 2.2 ROM. Things weren't stable after the dinc_ota.zip installation so I wiped user data and cache and restored the nandroid back-up that I had made before taking the plunge with the radio (hboot screen still confirms radio 1.x, so I thought I'd be okay to just restore the backup and call it a night).

Now I'm stuck in a bootloop between the Quietly Brilliant screen and the Verizon screen. Have removed the battery and rebooted several times. No dice. Even restored the Nandriod again - still boot loop. Unfortunately, this nandroid back up is the only one I have as I deleted the 4 prior copys (I now realize that this was a fail move, but at the time thought I had really not made many/any changes between back-ups). It has now charged for a few hours and still does the bootloop thing.

Here's what I did to get the dinc_ota.zip:
    Okay, My baseband still says 1.00.03.04.06 after doing the steps that I am about to detail, and now my wifi doesnt work. I need help. This is what I did.

I downloaded the dinc_ota.zip file from this xda thread: [ROM]*07/27 Leaked OTA* Stock 2.2 with Sense [SOME BUGS!!] - xda-developers.

I then followed the instructions you (Qazme) gave (I am pasting them here to reduce scrolling for readers/helpers):
    1. Place the .zip on the SD card.
    2. Reboot your phone into hboot. (volume down + power)
    3. Select recovery on the menu.
    4. Select install zip from sdcard.